top of page

Tbt Travel Diary | Portland, Oregon Circa 2011

Let's go back to almost five years also, shall we? I stayed home all day today because I am currently sick with who knows what but while trying to keep myself occupied from feeling like death and simultaneously procrastinating my midterm studying, I ventured back in time and revisited some of my old YouTube videos. If you didn't already know this, my best friend Brittany and I used to have a joint YouTube channel. Do not even try to search for it as we privated all of the videos as they are that embarrassing. However, while looking through all of these lovely throwbacks, I rediscovered the first travel vlog I ever filmed. As you know from my last post, I want to get into travel vlogs more and it's just so funny to watch me try to do one five years ago as a little fetus. There was so much that we did on this trip that I didn't film because I was embarrassed to film in public with my super old flip camera (remember those? whoa.) The flip camera also explains they film quality but ya know this shizz is like vintage now. This video is hilarious bc I am so little and I look sooooo young in this video. Ahh little Sam, so young and full of dreams of becoming the next famous YouTuber. It's also just crazy to see how much has changed within the past five years. Like can we all take a moment to appreciate those sunglasses that I am wearing?


Even though the rest of the videos that Britt and I made didn't launch our YouTube stardom like we had hoped, I have no regrets about starting that channel. Without that channel I would have never filmed this little video and that would've been a real shame because this trip is one of the most cherished trips I will ever go on, simply because it was the last trip we took with my dad. In this video I can see his face and hear is voice and watch him move. It's one of the closest things I will ever have to actually ever seeing him again. This video is one of the reasons why I want to get into travel vlogs more. I know it's nice to live in the moment and not be so technology consumed all the time but there is also something so nice about capturing moments on film to be able to relive and rewatch. You are capturing a moment for forever, it's like a time capsule. I love it. So I thought I would share this one old video with you all. A blast from the past, one time for the one time, if you will.

I also found some old pictures from the trip as well so I just threw those in there because why not. Click on the pics to see where they were taken if you so please. When I'm old and decrepit I just want to be able to look back at this blog and remember this trip okay? This is basically a tbt travel vlog, just posted five year later.

 


Stay happy and stay healthy folks.

Thanks for sharing this memory with me and g luck on your exams!

Until next time,

☾ SAM ✧

bottom of page