top of page

Travel Diary | O'ahu, Hawaii

HAWAII 2k16 ohhhh yeah.

My trip in under 2 minutes:

Aloha friends. I just flew back from O'ahu last night and I have never hated leaving a trip more than this trip. My family and I decided to take a trip to Hawaii this past MLK three day weekend to help our family friend celebrate her 60th birthday in her favorite place ever. It was honestly a yolo trip but no regrets at all. Thiswas extremely exciting for me because it has been 10 years since I have been to Hawaii. A DECADE. I'm old. And I had never been to another island besides Maui before this. I was only there for three full days and two half days which is just too short of a trip to hawaii. You need at least five full days to truly do everything you want to do. Though short and sweet, this trip was extremely memorable. I didn't manage to get photos everywhere we went because I honestly just forgot....especially with food. I just inhale it and then realize I never took a photo oops. I'm also not going to leave you a play by play of what we did and everything we ate because let's be real here that is just doing the most, but here are some highlights of the trip for me.


Pre Hawaii Day:

Leaving Rainy Davis. Good lord did that feel good to leave cold and rainy davis for the weekend. Love Davis, but the feeling of driving to the bay to leave to travel was indescribable and is one of my favorite feelings honestly.

Hawaii Day 1:

Air BnB. This was my first experience with an air bnb but it was such a good experience. Our apartment was in a prime location in Waikiki, being located right near Magic Island. It was such a cute apartment, I loved it.

Hawaii Day 2:

Lulumahu Falls. I have mixed feelings about hiking. I guess it really depends on the trail. I'm not a fan of the super croweded, walking up a dusty dirt path the whole time type of hikes. I think they are boring, the scenery always lacks and I feel like it's a waste of cardio. I alaways say if I do a hike there better be a damn waterfall at the end. Well, that is just what we hiked. The hike was actually a lot of fun. It was a beginner hike so it wasn't that difficult yet I still felt like I was being super sporty and naturey. And the scenery along the way was so lush and beautfully green. We also saw people doing yoga along the way so that was fun.

Ono's poke. I love poke and this place is the highest rated place on yelp so naturally we had to eat here. It was bomb. Yelp did not lie.

Hawaii Day 3:

Ramen. Oh lord. We ate at Agu Ramen which was like a ten minute walk from our apartment and it was so good. I got their popular Kotteri Ramen, but I got it spicy. My cousin ordered a spicy ramen too, a level 4 out of 5 and the waitress warned her how hot it was and she was not joking. A 4 is low key killer so I'm glad I stuck with my level 2.

Kailua Beach. SO BEAUTIFUL. The sand was so soft and the water was the most insane shades of blue. The currents were not very strong at this beach so we could actually swim in the water which was amazing. It wasn't super crowded either. Huge plus. Also when in the water we saw something pop up in the water and we are convinced it was a sea turtle or something.

Debbie's Birthday Dinner. The entire reason we were on this trip. It was at a restaurant called Side Street Inn. The food was not necessarily a highlight of this day but the night as a whole was just a sh*t show honestly, it was great. Let's just say two words: open bar.

Hawaii Day 4:

Shopping. Now we didn't actually take that much time to shop, just a quick trip the Ala Moana shopping center because it was right across from our apartment. We were only there for like 30 minutes but I bought this super cute bikini top and I'm still so in love with it.

North Shore. We ate at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck. Holyyyyy shizz. So good. Again, did not get a picture because I inhaled all twelve of those beautiful shrimp scampis. We also got shaved ice at Matsumoto's. I got Orange, Pineapple and Mango with ice cream-- naturally. We used to get shaved ice like everyday in Hawaii so it felt like old times.

Waimea beach. We tried to go to Shark's Cove to snorkel but the waves were way too strong so we went to Waimea Beach which was so much fun. The weather was perfect. Clear skies but it wasn't unbareably hot. Again, the waves were super strong but my sister and I went in the water anyways. It was so much fun to try not to fall over by the stength of the waves, it was like workout too to try and resist those bad boys. But like we only stood calf deep because we are horrible swimmers and would have died if we went any further. The lifegueards eventually kicked everyone out of the water because it was getting too dangerous but we made the most out of it.

Downtown Waikiki. Although the downtown area was very beautiful and poppin', it's the quality time I spent with my sister that night that was the highlight. We gave our cousin and her boyfriend a date night for dinner, so we joined my mom and all the others but Monica and I walked around on our own afterwards for a bit. We looked around in shops, spent some time on Waikiki beach and we just were enjoying each other's company and we were actually getting along. Like we get along most of the time, but it was just different, I felt like we were more compatible this trip, it was nice.

Hawaii Day 5:

Costco. Honestly the hot dog I ate there was just really satisfying.

----------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------


Hawaii I miss you so much. It is so cold and rainy here in Davis I can see my tan just fading already. Bye super subtle tan it was nice knowing ya. But Hawaii, you best believe that I will be back.

Stay happy and stay healthy folks.

AND maholo for reading!

Until next time,

☾ SAM ✧

bottom of page