top of page

You're Too Skinny

You're too skinny.

You need to eat more.

You should see a nutritionist.

You need gain some weight.

All of these statements have been said to me and all of them are what I like to call skinny shaming.

Skinny shaming is similar to fat shaming and even slut shaming, but as you can tell from the name, it's when a skinny person is shamed for being skinny even when they can't help it. Pretty self explanatory.

I am skinny. I am very skinny as a matter of fact. I am not going to tell you specifc numbers but I am very skinny. Yes I eat. I eat a lot actually and have people in my life to validate that statement. No I am not on some crazy diet. No I am not obsessed with wanting to look skinny. I just happen to have an extremely high metabolism and my preferences in foods in some categories just lend to a more slender figure. For instance, the chunks of fat on a piece of meat or the skin gross me out. Mayonaise is one of my least favorite foods ever. Fried foods (with the exception of fried chicken) aren't my first choice, olive oil, fruits and leafy veggies are da bomb and in general I just don't binge on anything because my eating habits lean towards the smaller but more frequent meals side. I am also naturally an extremely slow eater so I tend to get full faster.

I am also not claiming that I have a perfect diet either. I love carbs, potato chips and french fries are my weaknesses, ice cream is a main food group in my diet, chocolate is bae and idfw quinoa. I am not trying to brag about how I can eat all of this and still be skinny. I am very grateful that I do have that blessing but that shouldn't mean that I should feel ashamed for being skinny. That doesn't mean that I am not allowed to have insecurities about my body.

I have been a victim of skinny shaming my entire life. Now, some of you may be thinking, what is so wrong with that, you're skinny so why are you complaining? This is why. Like fat shaming, when you are skinny shamed you are led to believe that your body type is not the "correct" body type for society. Especially this day in age where big bootys and curves are all the rage and people like Ariana Grande, who has a very similar body type to mine are constantly ridiculed because of her petite slender figure evidenced below.

Honestly, my petitie skinny body has been one of my greatest and long lasting insecurites. Even to this day I tend to feel insecure when out and about because I am so small and so skinny compared to most of the people around me. I don't have a giant ass and I don't have giant boobs. Contrary to what many believe, being skinny actually makes it very difficult to find clothes that fit right especially when you are also very short. Pants are always too long and too baggy in the buthigh area. Dresses tend to be too long and I look like I am drowning in fabric. And when basic items just never fit, it can really make you feel like abosolute shit (pardon my french.) I am constantly stuffing myself full of food to the point where I almost feel sick in attempts to gain weight and curves and that's not okay.

The media has also played into skinny shaming also. While I love that curivier bodies and bigger body types are now being embraced and even celebrated to an extent, all of those "real beauty" campaigns inadvertently discourage slim figures. Yes, the majority of people do not have the figure of a Victoria's Secret model but that does not mean that slim and slender figures are not also real and beautiful.

Photo courtesty of blogs.uoregon.edu

Above is Dove's "Real Beauty" campaign, which challenges a similar Victoria's secret ad. No where in this ad, which is supposed to dipict what real beauty is, do I see a body type similar to mine whatsoever. Does this mean that my body is considered not real beauty???

These ads should be embracing ALL body types, including skinny people. In general we should not be looking at body types and shapes at all, rather that the person is happy and healthy.

I deserve to feel good about my body regardless of what I weigh, which is why skinny shaming needs to stop. As long as I am happy, healthy and treating my body the best that I can, it should not matter that I am skinny.

All body shaming needs to stop in general but there are many advocates for embracing curvier bodies while the voices standing up against skinny shaming are on the slim slide (pun very much intended.)

After reading this post there are three things that you should take away and be absolutely sure of.....

1) Edward is a vampire

LOL JK.

But seriously, the big picture: if you are curvy, skinny, tall or short....if you are treating your body the best that you can without compromising your happiness then you are doing something right. Try to stay away from #BodyGoals and instead focus on FEELING the best that you can because as corny and cliche as this is, I am a firm believer that what you feel and are on the inside will show on the outside. So focus on feeling beautiful and confident with yourself. Live a happy and active life. These are things that I too am constantly working towards. I am working towards treating my body better which includes a more consistent eating routine, gettting a better nights sleep, and living a more active lifestyle by exercising and just getting up and doing more. I am not there yet, nor do I think I am close but I am working towards it.

SO...stay happy and stay healthy folks.

Until next time,

☾ SAM ✧

bottom of page