top of page

First Things First

I have officially finished my second year of college. Well if we are being technical, I finished around two weeks ago but who's keeping track right? I still cannot believe that I am half way done with my college career (given that I actually graduate within four years.) How did this happen? Why am I getting older? I swear the beginning of my senior year was five minutes ago so how am I about to be a third year in college?! Crazy. Anyways, this past year has been such a growing up year for me. Am I an adult yet? No. Not even close. But am I closer to being one after this year? Slightly. But really the "growing up" that I did in the past year, people usually do around ages 16-18 not 20 but everyone works at their own pace. Regardless I am really proud of what I accomplished in this past year.

1. Finished my first internship. Moved on to the next

Now this blog knows about my first internship but my internship actually got extended throughout my entire sophomore year of college. At times it was really hard to balance everything but I somehow managed to finish out my year with the internship. Though the internship was not perfect, as nothing ever is, it was honestly such a great first internship. It was not too demanding for the most part and my boss was the best. She was so understanding and whenever we discussed ideas, I felt like she truly valued my opinions and that I was actually contributing a lot to the company, a feeling very rare when it comes to a lot of internships, but start ups FTW! And it helped me land my second internship that I currently have. And when I saw currently, I mean I am actually at my internship right this second and writing this because I am not working on any tasks right now. My current internship is with a PR company that primarily works with fashion and lifestyle clients and though some tasks are not the most fun I have already expanded my PR knowledge aka I had none before this. But I can offically say now that I have interacted with a Vogue editor through email so that's fun.


2. Freeway Driving

Now, this may seem like a such a minor thing for some people, but for me it was huge. Ever since I got my license around two years ago I have always had major driving anxiety which is not fun and actually really scary. The worst part about it was that no one really understood why I felt this way, typical anxiety issues. However, I wanted to bring my car up to college with me and in order to do that I had to do the deed and drive on the freeway by myself...and I did it! So now I can drive from Alameda to Davis and in between. Next step: feeling comfortable driving other people.

3. First Apartment

Now, there is not really much to say about this besides that I can say that I have lived in my first kinda adult apartment. I say kinda because my mom provided rent money and such but I say "adult" because the apartment was in no way affiliated with my school aka my school did not provide this housing aka I researched, toured and signed the lease all on my own. AND I survived the nightmare that consisted of my original apartment pulling out of her lease and having to last minute find someone else that was not a psycho murderer. I also found my second kinda adult apartment. On to the next one.


4. Joined a sorority

Not much to say about this one either except that I pushed myself of my comfort zone slightly by forcing my natural grandma hermit self to be a little more social. Baby steps. But even after all the FOMO and social anxiety that being in a sorority has given me, I am glad I joined because as cliche as this sounds, it introduced me to some of my favorite people at Davis.

6. Traveled Internationally

I have a passport now. And it has stamps in it. Yes, stamps, as in more than one, as in more than the zero I had before in my non-existent passport. Simply put, I left 'merica and traveled over seas! Over spring break, I traveled to SIngapore and Phuket, Thailand. To this day, I miss that trip so much and the travel bug bite that I got after that trip is still alive. I would go on and on about what I did over there but...oh wait I already did (read my other previous posts!) All in all, I feel so lucky to have been able to travel to Singapore and Thailand and could not feel more grateful that I got to experience everything that I did while in Asia. As Big Sean and Riley Curry like to say...waaaaay up I feel #BLESSED.

7. Flew by myself

Like driving, I have some flying issues too. Not as much anxiety, but rather a whole lot of motion sickness and ear issues. Also airports are big and I have a tendancy to get lost a lot but I decided to go and visit the bff4lyfe Julia down in SoCal. Not that I was necessarily scared of flying alone, it's simply that I have never done it before but I did it, didn't get lot and didn't die. My ear, however, got super plugged so I couldn't hear out of my left ear for like a week. You win some, you lose some right?

8. Working Girl

I mentioned my current internship above, but did I also mention that I picked up a second job this summer? Oh yeah, that happened too. Since my intership is sadly unpaid and only two days a week, I figured this is a good opportunity to get a part time paying job somewhere so little old me got hired at Old Navy! Retail jobs are hard, not going to lie. The hours are demanding, customers can be a handful, once you organize a section perfectly someone comes and messes it up right away, and being on your feet for 8 hours sometimes can be brutal. But once that pay check comes it'll all be worth it right? Regardless I am proud of myseld for getting my first real paying job on top of my internship. Go me.

Okay, I am going to stop my list of firsts there. 1) because I like the number 8 and 2) because I can't remember anything else.

What's (hopefully)next on my list of firsts?

Studying abroad

Going to New York to visit Brittany

Getting a sorority little

Stay tuned to see if any of these will actually happen (they better.) Stay happy folks!

Until next time,

☾ SAM ✧

bottom of page