top of page

Travel Diary | Singapore

Breaking news everyone. I have finally traveled outside of the country.

Day 1: The plane ride

So I left on a wednesday after I finished all of my finals. But actually I had three finals in one day and went stright from my last final into the car to go to SFO with my mom. But I made it through that hectic, chaotic week. To be honest the plane ride there was not bad at all. I took dramamine for my motion sickness and that stuff knocked me out so well. Seriously, I must have slept for 13 out of the 18 hours on the plane at least. And this was the first time I got to eat on the plane, which may not be exciting for anyone else but I was excited so that is all that counts. And the plane had so many good movies! Again this was my first time being on a plane where I got to choose what movies to watch, so bare with my over excitement. Fast forward -one layover in Hong Kong and two plane rides later we finally made to Singapore and met up with the rest of my family who arrived a day earlier. We ate lunch at one of the many little restaurants attached to my hotel and it was so good and then went to a hawker center for dinner. The food there was okay but it was nice to experience. We then went to the famous Marina Bay Sands hotel and went to the rooftop bar for a drink. Yes only one singular drink because Singapore is ridiculously expensive when it comes to alcohol. Like I'm talking at least 30 Singaporean dollars for one drink. But the view was free.

Day 2: The Wedding

Wedding day! The reason we even planned this whole trip was because my cousin Michael was getting married in Singapore. I love weddings. We got up early, ate food, went to my cousins apartment for their tea ceremony, then went to the Raffles hotel for the most amazing dim sum ever (I love food), walked around the Raffles hotel in the heat, then went back to the hotel to get ready for the wedding. Their wedding was supposed to be outdoors but 15 minutes before the ceremony started it began to pour so the ceremony was moved inside. We still got to see the outside set up and it was beautiful, but what matters is that they were still able to get married! And no matter what it was still beautiful. I cried. Obviously.

Day 3: Botanical Gardens and Chilli Crab

In the morning we went to the botanical gardens for around two hours. There were a lot of plants, it was really hot outside and invloved a lot of walking. Okay not that much walking but still. Now I don't dislike botanical gardens but lets just say they aren't exactly my cup of tea. But I did see a random cat just chilling in the gardens so that was fun. Then it started pouring again with thunder and lightening but that did not stop us from getting the famous Singapore chilli crab at Jumbo Chilli near Clarke Quay (again with the food.) To be honest the sauce on the crab kinda tasted like Chef Boyardee but it still tasted good! Then we walked along the Clarke Quay riverside and took a riverboat which as so so beautiful.

Day 4: Sentosa Island and Mustafas

On our last day in Singapore we went to Sentosa island for the first half of the day. Me, my sister Monica and my cousin Stefanie went on the luge ride thing. Surprisingly I did not crash into anything! Go me. Then walked around the island and naturally got a little lost trying to find our way to the restaurant for lunch. In our defense, the restaurant was really far. Then my whole family (Me, Moni, Stef, my mom, Auntie Jan, Uncle Randy) met up for lunch with our other side of the family (Michael, his NEW wife Wen Qui, and my other Auntie and Uncle) and then we all went to the aquarium afterwards. For the record, I LOVE stingrays. So much. THey just look so happy all of the time. Then for our last night my whole family had dinner with Michael and that side of the family again. Then to spend some quality time with Michael, me, Moni, Stef, Michael's parents, Wen Qui and her family to little india to Mustafa which is actually a super store that has EVERYTHING. Seriously, you can get almost anything there. This place was like four giant buildings. Though when we were at Mustafas I was basically falling over because I was so tired but I wanted to spend as much time with Michael as possible. Sacrifices.

STAY TUNED FOR PART 2 IN THAILAND!

Until next time,

☾ SAM ✧

bottom of page