top of page

Keeping Up With Sam | An Update


Hello all! Long time, no see...but actually. So sorry I have been completely MIA for the past month but things have been crazy busy. But I think it is only fair to update you all on my life. I have started my second year of college and it has already been a roller coaster of emotions. Let me paint you a little timeline of how my life has been going so far:

9/28/14- Officially moved into my first adult apartment! Complete with bills and everything. (Pictured: my lovely bedroom decorated fully by yours truly)

9/29/14- The First Day of Sorority Recruitment

The first day of sorority recruitment was the longest and most tiring. It all started at 6:30am when I got up to get all pretty for the day. Gotta put your best self forward as they say! Then I had "recruitment orientation" where I got my recruitment counselor and met the rest of my recruitment group (a group of girls all going through recruitment too) and then the real shizz started. The first day we just talked to all of the sororites so it was literally a day filled with small talk (and for the record, I hate small talk.) We also had to walk everywhere in the hot Davis weather so by the time I got home around 8:45pm I was ready to pass out.

9/30/14- Second day of recruitment

The second day was house tours which was my favorite day. It is basically what it sounds like, you get tours of the sorority houses! This day you visited less houses than the day before because you are starting to narrow down which ouse you will hopefully end up in. Now Davis is a small little town so even though we have houses for the sororities they aren't the typical giant sorority mansions but rather regular houses. They were all freaking adorable though! Also I woke up around 7am and got back home around 9:30pm.

10/1/14- Third day of recruitment

This day was centered around philanthrophy so at each of the different sororities (again you visit less sororites on philo day than on house tours day) and the sorority presents it's philanthropy by having little crafts set up for you to do with an active sorority girl to learn more about their philanthropy. I had a breakdown this day and called my mom because the stress of it all was getting to me. The thing about recruitment is that no matter how hard you try not to care, you really do care if all of the sororites like you enough to ask you back and the pressue of that got to me and I was starting to feel insecure about myself and just really self conscious. I woke up this day around 7 and got back around 8:30pm

10/2/14-10/3/14- Classes start

We did not have any recruitment activities on these days which was nice. I had time to focus on starting classes and to just rejuvinate myself after my little breakdown on Wednesday. I also got to somehow catch up on some sleep and some much needed alone time after spending three full days talking and interacting with people non stop.

10/4/14- Recruitment commences again for Preference Night

Pref. night is one of those things you always hear about when it comes to sororities. People say they cried on pref. night and that it is overall just a really special night. By this round, ideally you are down to two sororites and thankfully I got asked back to two of them. This round was not an all day thing as it starts, like the title says, at night time. Clothing wise this night is the the most formal with the attire being cocktail dresses and heels. Also at the sororities you go to, they serve you dessert which was amazing and they actually tasted good too! There's a bunch of shizz that you have to do after you visit the sororities so it was again a pretty long night. I got ready at 5pm and got back home around 1am.

10/5/14- BID DAY Bid day is where you hopefully receive an invitation to join the sorority that you wanted. They day started arounf 10am where my recruitment group gathered in a room waiting to receive our bids. You can tell everyone is freaking nervous because you never know what is going to happen. Then one by one our recruitment counselor called us out of the room to give us our bids. I was so anxious when I got called out I felt like I was going to explode. But I couldn't have been happier to see my bid card as I got the one that I had wanted and all was good in the world. Then the festivites begin and you just do fun things all day with your new "sisters."

Meet my sorority Alpha Chi Omega!

Since bid day my life has consisted of sorority meetings every monday from 6:15pm to around 8pm, sisterhood events, and social events. All the while trying to balance classes and a part time internship.

Throughout this month I have already done more than I did with my whole year last year. I went and saw my first scary movie in theaters with some AXO girls and covered my eyes the entire time, I managed to work an event for my internship at Lookmazing, I already have gone to the farmers market and got myself from fresh apple juice which is the bomb.com. I went to my first tailgate which tbh was kinda boring and it was really freaking hot which was not fun. Sporting outings just aren't my thing. I broke my grandma tendencies and I went out on a Tuesday...that's right a tuesday.

Flash forward to now where I am going back to my grandma ways because it is midterm season already. I don't know where the days are going to be honest. I went back home this past weekend for family reasons and it was the greatest thing ever. I missed my family so much and I already miss them now. I also miss all of my friends back at home. Things just aren't the same without them. I am also starting to feel the stress of school and I am currently sick so I am just all over the place. But I am trying to keep my composure and keep postivie thoughts as much as possible!

In terms of keeping up with this blog, I cannot promise you consistent posts like I tried to do during the summer. As you can see from above, my life is all over the place, much like this post. I will promise that I will try to post on here as much as I can!

I hope you all have been well (:

Until next time,

☾ SAM ✧

bottom of page