top of page

Flashback Friday | The High School Years

Ah, high school. The glory days, the best four years of my life...except for not really.

On this lovely friday, I decided to bring up the much dreaded high school years. Even though it has only been a year since I graduated high school, I feel like so much has changed. In high school, I was not very cool. For the first half of high school I was extremely awkward and very antisocial. Freshman and Sophomore year I hung out with a total of around two people. It's not like I was some weird kid in the corner, I was just very antisocial. And I am just going to say it, I was mean Sophomore year. Not to anyone's face but I was very judgmental and was in my "I hate the world and everyone sucks" phase. Junior year was the year I lost my father so that entire year was kinda funky to me. I was "friends" with people I did not really care about and who were not very nice people because it felt nice to be "social." And because they were friends with one of my best friends. Senior year was by far the best and least awkward year. I had a solid, wonderful group of friends that I did everything with. If there were any awkward moments, it was because I learned to embraced my weirdness and made them intentional. I was a lot more out going and social and I actually went out occasionally...YOLOSWAG. Unfortunately I did not have any epic or dramatic romances but hey, I got prom dates for both years so that is an accomplishment by itself. (Side note: I really admire those who are totally chill going solo to prom. Y'all are awesome, I was just not that confident of a person.) But needless to say, I was and am to this day a complete weirdo and a dork. But an insanely proud one. So here is my high school experience in a nutshell and hopefully you can capture everything I experienced through these photos. Enjoy all of the awkward and embarrassing fetus high school Sam photos. I guess this is like a mini yearbook for all four years of high school.

Also here are all of my yearbook photos. Seriously, what is up with my uneven eyes freshman year? WHYYY. Well all I can say now is all hail puberty and hormones!

EXCERPT FROM MY SENIOR FAREWELL PIECE

The piece I wrote for my high school newspaper to commemorate my time in high school.

"Some people say that high school will be the best four years of your life. They lied, which is sad, or their peak was in high school, which is even more sad. For me, the past four years have ranged from the worst years of my life to seemingly mediocre years. I went through tragedy and depression, put way too much pressure on myself, and also dealt with the struggles of a typical high school student. Though my high school experience has not been ideal, I can honestly say that I have no regrets...


...Instead, throughout my high school years, I had to deal with the death of my father, which although painful, made my family and I grow stronger and even closer than we were before. I got decent grades and still got into a great college. I got to make a home away from home through my dance studio because dance was the only physical activity I was willing to do and simultaneously enjoyed...


...I managed to befriend the weirdest, most annoying people I have ever met and I love every one of them to pieces...


...Basically, my high school life consisted of major pitfalls with a few happy memories here and there, but that's okay because somehow those happy memories, no matter how trivial, are the ones that make everything seem okay at the end of the day...

...so farethee well Alameda High School, you will be truly missed."

Until next time,

☾ SAM ✧

bottom of page